Tchaikovsky: Andante Cantabile - Double Bass

Tchaikovsky: Andante Cantabile - Double Bass
Our Price:  £9.50Earn 9 Loyalty Points

Bar Code:  9790570451531
Part Number:  RM153
Brand:  Recital Music


Available, normally despatched in 1-3 working days

 An arrangement of Tchaikovsky's Andante Cantabile for double bass and piano

This masterly transcription of the slow movement from Tchaikovsky's String Quartet No.1 in D major has been out of print for far too long. Arranged by the Czech bassist Josef Rambousek (1845-1901), who is remembered today as Koussevitsky's double bass teacher in Moscow in the late 19th-century, this is accessible and enjoyable and would be ideal for both educational study and recital repertoire.

This new edition includes accompaniments for both solo and orchestral tunings, and two solo parts - one with Rambousek's original fingerings and a 'clean' version for the player to add their own markings.

Tchaikovsky's String Quartet No.1 in D major OP.11 was premiered in 1871 and quickly became one of his most famous works, particularly the beautiful and atmospheric Andante Cantabile. The main theme is a famous Russian folksong - Sidel Vanya - which Tchaikovsky had collected in 1869 and his treatment of it is simple and understated creating a masterpiece which has stood the test of time.

Originally published by Jurgenson in Moscow, who also published the original version for string quartet and seven transcriptions, this transcription has been long forgotten until this new edition by Recital Music and makes a worthy and accessible addition to the intermediate transcription repertoire. It uses a three octave range and offers musical and technical challenges in equal measure for the aspiring bassist who has the ability to create a sonorous and cantabile tone throughout the range of the double bass.