Recently Viewed

Schubert: Sonata for Piano in C Minor D958

Schubert: Sonata for Piano in C Minor D958
Our Price:  £10.50Earn 10 Loyalty Points

Bar Code:  9790006521081
Part Number:  BA10869
Brand:  Barenreiter

Schubert’s great C minor Sonata D 958 was composed in 1828 just a few months before his death, along with the late sonatas in A major (D 959) and B-flat major (D 960). Conceived as a triptych, they constitute his musical testament to the piano sonata genre.
This scholarly-critical edition by Walburga Litschauer is based on the “New Schubert Edition” and presents this masterpiece in a spacious new engraving. Notes on performance practice, especially on pedalling, and Schubert’s distinctive manner of writing accents, form a Foreword to the work. Rounding off the edition is a Critical Commentary which presents alternative readings of interest to performers. Schubert’s drafts for all four movements of the sonata can be accessed on Bärenreiter’s website.

Be the first to Write a Review for this item!