Shop by Brand
Recently Viewed

Saint-Saens Suite in D Minor Op 16 for Cello Original

Saint-Saens Suite in D Minor Op 16 for Cello Original
Our Price:  £18.99Earn 18 Loyalty Points 



Bar Code:  9790001171571
Part Number:  CB222
Brand:  Schott

Apart from his classic, the First Concerto, Camille Saint-SaŽns composed other works for the violoncello, such as his Suite Op. 16. Written in 1862, the work lives on the composer's examination of tradition, especially of the form of the Baroque suite incorporated in a Romantic tonal language. This edition presents the original version of the work: for violoncello and piano. (The composer later arranged it and exchanged two movements, published as CB 229.) The five-movement suite begins with a prelude reminiscent of Bach which is followed by a pleasant serenade, a burlesque scherzo, and a sentimental romance, before it comes to an end with a virtuoso and rapturous finale. The tuneful and joyful-to-play Suite is a valuable addition to the cello literature and suitable for tuition and concert alike.