Recently Viewed

Martinu: Puppets 1 for Piano

Martinu: Puppets 1 for Piano
Our Price:  £8.00Earn 8 Loyalty Points

Bar Code:  9790260104402
Part Number:  H7875
Brand:  Barenreiter Praha

Martinu Puppets / Marionnettes 1 Piano

This cycle of piano pieces occupies an exceptional position among the other compositions from Bohuslav Martinu's early period. In view of the musical and aesthetic challenges this work presents, the cycle Puppets goes beyond the other pieces from this period which,broadly speaking, are didactic in nature and designed for the purposes of study.

Martinu wrote the cycle between the years 1912-1925 and, during this time, he reworked and changed the pieces to the extent that Puppets I chronologically comes after Puppets III, which is the earliest in the series. The third book (Puppets I) dates from 1925 and contains five short pieces: Columbine Dances, The New Puppet, The Shy Doll, Fairy Tale and, finally,The Puppets' Dance.

Be the first to Write a Review for this item!