Hauta-aho: 3 Dances for Sophie

Hauta-aho: 3 Dances for Sophie
Our Price:  £9.50Earn 9 Loyalty Points

Bar Code:  9790570451746
Part Number:  RM174
Brand:  Recital Music


Available, normally despatched in 1-3 working days

3 Dances for Sophie was composed in 2005/6 and premiered on 7 May 2006 by Sophie Heyes (double bass) and Naomi Gregory (piano) at St. Anthony's Leweston (Sherborne, Dorset).

Each dance offers a range of musical and technical challenges for the intermediate bassist and can be performed singly or as a suite. The accompaniments are simple and supportive, creating a range of moods and idioms in a modern but accessible style, and the suite would be suitable for any adventurous bassist who is confident in the lower orchestral register of the instrument. Useful as both recital or educational repertoire.

1. Sophie's Waltz is a gentle and effective waltz, contrasting passages played arco or pizzicato.
2. Sophie and the Ghost is more atmospheric, utilising tremolando to good effect, and offers a range of musical challenges.
3. Sophie's Dance in Two is a lively and spritely final movement with a few 'Teppo trademarks' such as left-hand pizzicato and sudden changes of tempo and mood.

3 Dances for Sophie is dedicated to Sophie Heyes.