Gajdos: Czech Fantasie

Gajdos: Czech Fantasie
Our Price:  £13.50Earn 13 Loyalty Points

Bar Code:  9790570452583
Part Number:  RM258
Brand:  Recital Music


Available, normally despatched in 1-3 working days

An impressive work for the advanced player. Composed in a theme and variations style, this uses the entire range of the double bass, with double-stops, harmonics, lyrical melodies and much to challenge the advanced and adventurous bassist. Composed in a traditional and tonal style typical of the music of this leading Czech bassist-composer.

"Anyone who has had the pleasure of seeing Miloslav Gajdos perform live remembers his technique and creative stage presence. His imagination is too strong to allow him to fade into the fog of good bassists who solely play well. The Czech Fantasie is a work with all of the jollity and technical demands that anyone would expect from a Gajdos recital.
The form and technical requirements are similar to the Paganini Moses variations, without the one-string challenge. There is a short introduction in E minor followed by an infectious theme in G major that is reminiscent of any strong Verdi operatic 'money' tune. It is simple, spans an interval of a major 11th, and is both repetitive and memorable.
There follow five variations in G major that consist mainly of sixteenth-note arpeggio flourishes in the variation style of Bottesini. Variation 2 recalls any Paganini moto perpetuo caprice that is a joy to master. It quickly travels throughout the entire upper register of the fingerboard. Variation 3 demands skilled double-stop ability at the upper register that will discourage the intermediate learner. The work closes with rolling string-crossings a la Rabbath's Thanatos, and finishes with a rapid triplet flourish in the style of Bottesini's Passione Amorosa. The work is not derivative, though it is idiomatic and lies well for the advanced player.
This work is such a pleasant blend of melody and facility that it will fit perfectly in any recital." [Double Bassist]

This edition is published with accompaniments for both solo and orchestral tunings.