Shop by Brand
Recently Viewed

Franck: Sonata and Melancolie for Cello

Franck: Sonata and Melancolie for Cello
Our Price:  £16.00Earn 16 Loyalty Points 



Bar Code:  9790006559152
Part Number:  BA10917
Brand:  Barenreiter

Cesar Franck's Sonata for Piano and Violin is one of the most treasured works in the violin repertoire, a masterpiece of cyclic form with a gracefulness and expressive force almost paradigmatic for the age of musical Romanticism. This work was composed in 1886 and was dedicated to the Belgian violinist and composer Eugène Ysae. This version by the cellist Jules Delsart for piano and violoncello is the only arrangement of the work authorized by the composer and its first edition represents the main source for Bärenreiter's new scholarly-critical publication.

Bärenreiter's new edition also includes a separate movement, Mélancolie, first published after Franck's death in 1911, again for the same instrumentation, piano and violin or violoncello. This short piece is based on a solfège exercise and was written at the height of the composer's creative powers, at about the same time as his famous violin sonata.