Ellis: Four Journeys and an Arrival

Ellis: Four Journeys and an Arrival
Our Price:  £10.50Earn 10 Loyalty Points

Bar Code:  9790570454129
Part Number:  RM412
Brand:  Recital Music


Available, normally despatched in 1-3 working days

The composer writes: 'This selection of short pieces is intended to provide players of Grade 5/6 standard with music which will prepare them for further technical studies towards Grades 7 and 8. However, they are essentially pieces of music and should not be regarded as a yardstick for these grades in terms of the level of required technical ability.

The opening Intrada (March) needs a confident regular pulse, except for the brief interlude recalling distant trumpet calls.

Rhythmic agility plus a hint of theatre is needed for the extrovert Ceremonial - a duet, with the piano dictating the balletic drama.

More than a hint of the jazz-world is of the essence in the pizzicato Scherzando - strict tempo and accurately placed accents are crucial. (It's faster than you think!)

In complete contrast, the harmonies of the fourth piece, Cantabile, are transformed to provide a gentle background for the developing melody in the bass part. Sustained legato, from quiet to loud and back again, is the aim.

The finale (Arrival) is full or references to the earlier 'journeys' - a kind of summary of the previous lessons. It needs a lively tempo, but characterful playing is more important than speed.'