Recently Viewed

Elgar: Salut d'amour Op 12 for Orchestra

Elgar: Salut d'amour Op 12 for Orchestra
Our Price:  £23.99Earn 23 Loyalty Points

Bar Code:  9790222267893
Part Number:  GMCL151
Brand:  Goodmusic

In the summer of 1888, Edward Elgar went for a holiday with a long-standing friend, Dr Charles Buck of Settle, Yorkshire. As he left, his fiancee, Alice, gave him a poem she had written entitled Love's Grace. Whilst in Yorkshire, Edward wrote a short piece for her which he called Liebesgruss (Love's Greeting). On his return from holiday, Elgar presented the work to his wife and proposed to her. They married at the Brompton Oratory in London in May 1889.
Elgar submitted three versions of the work (solo piano, violin and piano, and an orchestral arrangement) to the music publishers Schott who bought the work outright for two guineas. The work sold slowly at first but when Schott retitled the work (with Elgar's approval) as "Salut d'Amour", the French title helped to improve international sales and it gradually achieved the popularity that it still enjoys today.
This edition is as Elgar composed it, save for some minor editorial tidying-up.
Duration: 3 minutes
Flute, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in A or Bb, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns in F
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Double Bass)