Beethoven Sonata in E-flat major for Piano op. 81a "Les Adieux"

Beethoven Sonata in E-flat major for Piano op. 81a ''Les Adieux''
Our Price:  £7.00Earn 7 Loyalty Points

Bar Code:  9790006561810
Part Number:  BA11808
Brand:  Barenreiter


Available, normally despatched in 1-3 working days

Beethoven Piano Sonata in E-flat major Op.81a "Les Adieux"

Composed in 1809–10, Beethoven’s Sonata Op.81a expresses his very personal feelings. He titled its three movements “Das Lebe wohl” (The Farewell), “Die Abwesenheit” (The Absence) and “Das Wiedersehn” (The Return) in reference to the hasty departure of his good friend and patron Archduke Rudolph of Austria who fled Vienna with the imperial family on 4 May 1809 to escape Napoleon’s approaching troops.

Beethoven referred to Op.81a as a “characteristic sonata”, not in the sense that it had an underlying programme, but because it lent musical expression to his feelings. He reacted angrily when his publisher printed French translations of its title and movement headings. This however did not prevent Op.81a from becoming widely known by its French name “Les Adieux”.